介绍

塑料一直是全球使用最多的包装材料。低成本,易于制作和多功能性使其如此受欢迎。然而,纸管包装给塑料包装带来了困难。它正在被越来越多的行业使用,并在行业、监管机构和客户中获得全球认可。当前文章分析了纸管和塑料盒包装之间的主要区别,并推荐了更好的选择。

碳足迹碳

纸管和塑料盒包装的碳足迹可归因于从制造过程开始的不同阶段。全球塑料制造占温室气体排放总量的近 3.8%。这是全球航空业排放量的两倍。提供一个视角,如果塑料制造业是一个国家,它将是世界第五大温室气体排放国。纸管包装的采购和制造也需要大量能源。但其对全球温室气体排放的贡献仅为1%。这可以通过使用生物质、沼气、水电等生态友好型制造能源来实现。很大一部分纸管是由回收材料制成的,这进一步减少了它们的排放和碳足迹。

1 吨纸管在其生命周期(包括原材料采购、制造过程和处置)中排放了近 538 公斤的二氧化碳。塑料是由原油制成的,由于提取、提炼、运输等过程,原油的碳足迹要高得多。所有塑料都没有回收利用,其中相当一部分最终进入垃圾填埋场和海床,这对人类不利环境。据估计,1 公斤塑料的二氧化碳足迹可高达 6 公斤。这几乎是用于纸管包装的纸管和纸板碳足迹的 12 倍。塑料在焚烧时也会产生更高的排放量。

因此,纸管包装比塑料盒包装更环保,因为它的碳足迹要低得多。它正在成为行业的首选包装选择,并被客户接受。

重量和运输便利性

包装盒的重量是选择包装材料的重要考虑因素。轻质包装材料更好,因为它更易于运输。传统上,塑料是首选的包装材料,因为它耐用且重量轻。纸板和纸管更重,不太受欢迎。但是,随着技术和生产工艺的改进,纸管变得轻了很多。纸管包装重量轻,易于堆叠。这意味着更多的产品可以存储在运输车上。重量轻还意味着可以使用相同的燃料运输更多的产品,从而进一步减少纸管包装的碳足迹。

适用于食品包装

食品包装需要更多的预防和护理。食品易腐烂,很快就会被污染。有些塑料不适合包装食品。它们可以与食品发生反应并污染它们。这会使包装食品不适合食用。纸管包装在食品工业中得到广泛应用。它使用惰性且化学稳定的衬纸。衬纸不会与包装食品发生反应。这确保了包装食品对人类食用是安全且完全安全的。如今,婴儿食品也使用纸管包装进行包装。纸管包装的这种化学稳定性也使其成为化妆品行业的流行替代品。许多大型化妆品和时尚品牌正在转向纸管包装,作为塑料的安全和环保替代品。

环保

企业变得更加环保。随着时间的推移,人们越来越担心塑料包装对环境造成的损害。塑料包装不环保,因为其中大部分没有得到回收。这种塑料包装废物最终会进入垃圾填埋场或海床。在完全退化之前,它们可以在那里停留几十年甚至几个世纪。客户也意识到塑料包装对环境的潜在危害,并接受可持续包装。

即使在回收率很高的最发达国家,塑料回收率仍然很低。澳大利亚回收了近 75% 的纸和纸板包装,而回收的塑料不到三分之一。在欧盟,86% 的纸板和纸张被回收,10% 被倾倒在垃圾填埋场,剩余的被焚烧。另一方面,只有 40% 塑料被回收,30% 最终进入垃圾填埋场,30% 被焚烧。用新原料制造塑料的排放量很高。因此,纸管包装比塑料盒包装具有明显的优势,因为它更环保。

耐用性

包装的主要目的之一是保护被包装的产品。纸管包装可以设计成不同的尺寸,以适应不同的产品。市场上有各种强度和耐用性的纸管。您可以根据要包装和运输的产品类型进行选择。产品牢固地放置在纸管之间,保护其免受损坏。纸管包装经久耐用,可保护产品在长途运输过程中免受损坏。它也是通过可能需要几天时间才能到达目的地的海上航线运输产品的理想选择。它可以保护产品免受风、紫外线、高温等天气因素的影响。

塑料盒包装还提供了良好的耐用性和保护性。它们比纸管包装提供更好的防潮保护,因此对于需要更多防潮保护的产品来说是首选。

易于品牌推广

包装的目的是吸引潜在客户。它是客户和产品之间的第一个接触点和视觉提示。在大多数情况下,如果包装未能打动客户,他们就会转向替代产品。因此,企业不能承担使用平淡无奇的包装设计的风险,因为他们可能会失去客户。纸管包装为打印复杂的品牌元素和设计图形提供了最佳媒介。与塑料盒包装相比,在纸管包装上展示品牌和品牌个性要容易得多。纸管包装上的字体、颜色、图形等看起来更清晰、更清晰、更令人印象深刻。如果您想要轻松打造品牌并吸引客户的注意力,纸管包装是比塑料盒包装更好的选择。

成本效益

纸管包装是所有包装材料中最具成本效益的选择之一。纸管的制造过程不是劳动力或资本密集型的。这导致纸管的成本较低。使用纸管包装可以节省可观的包装成本。这有助于提高您的利润率。您还可以通过以较低的价格将降低的包装成本转嫁给您的客户,从而在市场上获得竞争优势。纸管包装的存储成本也较低,因为它们可以在仓库中轻松堆叠在一起。因此,如果您想要低成本和物有所值的包装选择,那么纸管包装是您的最佳选择。  

结论   

综合上述因素,纸管包装明显优于塑料盒包装。尽管差异可能并不大,但在大多数方面它仍然比塑料包装好。随着可持续包装和电子商务出货量的增加,纸管包装的使用在未来只会呈指数级增长。

zh_CN简体中文

Introduction

Plastic has been the most used packaging material globally. Low cost, ease of making, and versatility make it so popular. However, paper tube packaging is giving a tough time to plastic packaging. It is being used by more and more industries and is finding global acceptance among industries, regulatory authorities, and customers. The current article analyzes the key differences between the paper tube and plastic box packaging and recommends which is a better choice.

Carbon FootpThe carbon

Carbon footprint of paper tubes and plastic box packaging can be attributed to different stages starting from their manufacturing process. Global plastic manufacturing accounts for nearly 3.8% of the total greenhouse gas emissions. This is twice the emissions of the global airline industry. To provide a perspective, if the plastic manufacturing industry was a country, it would be the fifth-largest greenhouse gas emitter in the world. Sourcing and manufacturing of paper tube packaging also need considerable energy. However, its contribution to the global greenhouse gas emission is only 1%. This is made possible by using eco-friendly manufacturing energy sources like biomass, biogas, hydroelectricity, etc. A large percentage of paper tubes are made from recycled materials, which further reduces their emissions and carbon footprint.

1 ton of paper tubes contributes nearly 538 kg of carbon dioxide during its lifecycle- including sourcing raw materials, manufacturing processes, and disposal. Plastic is manufactured from crude oil, which has a significantly higher carbon footprint due to processes like extraction, refinement, transportation, etc. All plastic is not recycled and a considerable part of it ends up in landfills and ocean beds which is not good for the environment. It is estimated that 1 kg of plastic can have a carbon dioxide footprint as high as 6 kg. This is nearly 12-times the carbon footprint of paper tubes and cardboard used for paper tube packaging. Plastic also produces much higher emissions when it is incinerated.

Hence, paper tube packaging is more eco-friendly than plastic box packaging due to a much lower carbon footprint. It is becoming the preferred packaging option for industries and is accepted by customers.

Weight and Ease of Transportation

The weight of the packaging box is an important consideration for choosing the packaging material. Lightweight packaging material is better as it is easier to transport. Traditionally plastic was the preferred packaging material as it was durable and lightweight. Cardboard and paper tubes were heavier and less preferred. However, with the improvement in technology and production processes, paper tubes have become much lighter. Paper tube packaging is lightweight and easy to stack. This means that more products can be stored in the transportation van. Being lightweight also implies that more products can be shipped with the same fuel, thereby reducing the carbon footprint of paper tube packaging further.

Suitability for Use in Food Packaging

Packaging of food products requires more precaution and care. Food products are perishable and can get contaminated quickly. Some plastics are not suitable for packaging food items. They can react with food products and contaminate them. This can make packaged food unfit for consumption. Paper tube packaging is being widely used in the food industry. It uses a paper liner that is inert and chemically stable. The paper liner does not react with packaged food. This ensures the packaged food product is safe and completely safe for human consumption. Baby food products are also being packaged using paper tube packaging these days.This chemically stable nature of paper tube packaging is making it a popular alternative in the cosmetic industry too. Many large cosmetic and fashion brands are moving to paper tube packaging as a secure and eco-friendly alternative to plastic.

Eco-Friendliness

Businesses are becoming more environmentally friendly. There is a growing concern for the damage caused to the environment from plastic packaging over time. Plastic packaging is not eco-friendly as most of it does not get recycled. Such plastic packaging waste ends up either in landfills or ocean beds. They can remain there for decades or even centuries before degrading completely. Customers are also aware of the potential dangers to the environment from plastic packaging and are accepting sustainable packaging.

Even in the most developed countries with high recycling rates, plastic recycling rates remain abysmal. Nearly 75% of paper and cardboard packaging is recycled in Australia while less than one-third of plastic is recycled. In the EU, 86% of cardboard and paper is recycled, 10% is dumped in landfills, and the remaining is incinerated. On the other hand, only 40% of plastic is recycled, 30% ends up in landfills, and 30% is incinerated. Manufacturing plastic from new raw material has high emissions. Hence, paper tube packaging has a clear edge over plastic box packaging as it is eco-friendlier.

Durability

One of the primary purposes of packaging is to protect the packaged product. Paper tube packaging can be designed in different sizes to accommodate varying products. Paper tubes of varying strength and durability are available in the market. You can choose depending on the type of product to be packaged and shipped. The product is securely nestled between the paper tubes which protect it from damage. Paper tube packaging is durable and protects the product from damage during the long transit. It is also ideal for shipping products through sea routes that may take several days to reach its destination. It can protect the product from weather elements like wind, ultraviolet radiation, high temperatures, etc.

Plastic box packaging also provides good durability and protection. They offer better moisture protection than paper tube packaging and thus can be preferred for products that need more moisture protection.

Ease of Branding

Packaging serves the purpose of attracting potential customers. It is the first point of contact and visual cue between the customer and the product. In most cases, if the packaging fails to impress a customer, then they will switch to alternative products. Hence, businesses cannot afford to risk using bland packaging design as they can lose out on customers. Paper tube packaging provides the best medium for printing complex branding elements and design graphics. It is much easier to showcase branding and brand personality on paper tube packaging compared to plastic box packaging. The fonts, colors, graphics, etc. on paper tube packaging appear a lot crisper, sharper, and impressive. Paper tube packaging is a better choice than plastic box packaging if you want the ease of branding and captivate your customer’s attention.

Cost-Effectiveness

Paper tube packaging is one of the most cost-effective options among all packaging materials. The manufacturing process for paper tubes is not labor or capital intensive. This results in the low cost of paper tubes. You can save considerable packaging costs by using paper tube packaging. This can help to improve your profit margins. You can also gain a competitive advantage in the market by passing on the reduced packaging costs to your customers in terms of lower prices. The storage costs of paper tube packaging are also less as they can be easily stacked over one another in the warehouse. Hence, if you want a low cost and value for money packaging option, then paper tube packaging is your best bet.  

Conclusion   

When all the above-mentioned factors are considered, it becomes clear that paper tube packaging is better than plastic box packaging. Though the differences may not be drastic, it still fares better than plastic packaging on most fronts. With sustainable packaging and e-commerce shipments on the rise, the use of paper tube packaging is only going to increase exponentially in the future.

en_USEnglish